What food have gluten?

If experiencing gluten intolerance symptoms, the products on this page should be avoided. Instead, concentrate on gluten free, brain healthy foods. Many are listed here. This is sure to help maintain or improve brain health and function.

The following grains and starches contain gluten:

  • Wheat
  • Wheat germ
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Farina
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut Matzo
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale

The following foods often contain gluten:

  • malt/malt flavoring
  • soups
  • commercial bullion and broths
  • cold cuts
  • French fries (often dusted with flour before freezing)
  • processed cheese (e.g., Velveeta)
  • mayonnaise
  • ketchup
  • malt vinegar
  • soy sauce and teriyaki sauces
  • salad dressings
  • imitation crab meat, bacon, etc
  • egg substitute
  • tabbouleh
  • sausage
  • non-dairy creamer
  • fried vegetables/tempura
  • gravy
  • marinades
  • canned baked beans
  • cereals
  • commercially prepared chocolate milk
  • breaded foods
  • fruit fillings and puddings
  • hot dogs
  • ice cream
  • root beer
  • energy bars
  • trail mix
  • syrups
  • seitan
  • wheatgrass
  • instant hot drinks
  • flavored coffees and teas blue cheeses
  • vodka
  • wine coolers
  • meatballs, meatloaf communion wafers
  • veggie burgers
  • roasted nuts
  • beer
  • oats (unless certified GF)
  • oat bran (unless certified GF)

The following are miscellaneous sources of gluten:

  • shampoos
  • cosmetics
  • lipsticks, lip balm
  • Play-Doh
  • medications
  • non self-adhesive stamps and envelopes
  • vitamins and supplements (check label)

The following ingredients are often code for gluten:

  • Avena sativa Cyclodextrin
  • Dextrin
  • Fermented grain extract
  • Hordeum distichon
  • Hordeum vulgare
  • Hydrolysate
  • Hydrolyzed malt extract
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Maltodextrin
  • Phytosphingosine extract
  • Samino peptide complex
  • Secale cereale
  • Triticum aestivum
  • Triticum vulgare
  • Tocopherol/vitamin E
  • Yeast extract
  • Natural flavoring
  • Brown rice syrup
  • Modified food starch
  • Hydrolyzed soy protein
  • Caramel color (frequently made from barley)

Everything you need to know about gluten

Share on PinterestMany foods that usually contain gluten, such as pasta, have gluten-free alternatives.

Gluten is the name given to a family of proteins found in all forms of wheat, barley, rye, and triticale. These proteins help bind foods together, maintaining their shape.

Wheat products, such as bread, baked goods, crackers, cereals, and pasta, commonly contain gluten. It is also an ingredient in barley-based products, including malt, food coloring, malt vinegar, and beer.

However, these gluten-containing grains may also occur in other, less obvious foods, such as:

  • soups
  • sauces
  • salad dressings

An individual may need to follow a gluten-free diet for several reasons:

  • Gluten sensitivity: A person with sensitivity to gluten might experience abdominal pain, bloating, diarrhea, constipation, headaches, and fatigue after consuming gluten. Eliminating gluten from the diet may improve these symptoms.
  • Celiac disease: This is an autoimmune disorder in which an intolerance to gluten can damage the small intestine, leading to intestinal damage, poor nutrient absorption, and physical pain. Some people with celiac disease do not have any symptoms.

A person with celiac disease should consume a completely gluten-free diet.

Other people also choose to follow a gluten-free diet for weight loss reasons or a variety of other health reasons.

However, some people who do not have celiac disease or a gluten allergy experience symptoms similar to people with these conditions. This is known as non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS).

According to the World Journal of Gastroenterology, NCGS may have links to some mental disorders, such as depression and anxiety, as well as certain autoimmune disorders, such as:

  • Hashimoto’s thyroiditis
  • rheumatologic diseases
  • psoriasis

People who do not have celiac disease but experience other conditions, such as irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) and eosinophilic esophagitis, may benefit from avoiding gluten.

Recent research also suggests that NCGS might be a disease of the gut that causes an immune response.

Other studies indicate that NCGS may involve changes in gut microbiota or have genetic, environmental, and pathological causes.

Gluten Free Food List

Fruit, Vegetables and Legumes

  • Artichoke
  • Asparagus
  • Avocado
  • Bell peppers
  • Broccoli
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Cabbage
  • Cauliflower
  • Celery
  • Chard
  • Chickpeas
  • Coconut
  • Collards
  • Cucumber
  • Eggplant / aubergine
  • Garlic (avoid if on FODMAP diet)
  • Ginger
  • Green beans
  • Kale
  • Leek
  • Lemon
  • Lentils
  • Lettuce
  • Limes
  • Mushrooms
  • Olives
  • Onions (avoid if on FODMAP diet)
  • Pak choi / bok choy
  • Parsley
  • Pineapple
  • Potatoes
  • Pumpkin
  • Sauerkraut
  • Scallions
  • Shallots
  • Soya beans
  • Spinach
  • Squash
  • Tomato
  • Turnip
  • Watercress
  • Zucchini / courgettes

Meats, Poultry, Fish and Meat Free Substitutes

Ensure items are not breaded or battered

  • Beef
  • Cod
  • Chicken
  • Cold cuts / sandwich meat as long as they are not breaded or glazed but check label
  • Duck
  • Fish
  • Lamb
  • Mince meat
  • Pork
  • Quorn mince
  • Salmon
  • Shellfish and molluscs
  • Trout
  • Turkey

Cereals, Grains, Breads, Biscuits, Pasta, Nuts and Cakes

  • Gluten free bread such as Genius bread and Udi’s gluten free bread
  • Gluten free cereals
  • Gluten free oats
  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Beans
  • Buckwheat groats / Kasha
  • Cassava
  • Chia
  • Corn / maize
  • Cornflakes
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free oats
  • Granola
  • Millet
  • Nuts
  • Nut flours
  • Porridge oats
  • Potato
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Seeds e.g. flaxseed, pumpkin, poppy sesame, sunflower
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca
  • Teff
  • Yucca

Condiments, Dips, Desserts, Sweets, Sweeteners and Spreads

  • Coconut oil
  • French mustard
  • Ground pepper
  • Honey
  • Horseradish
  • Jam
  • Jellies
  • Olive oil
  • Rice pudding
  • Salsa
  • Salt
  • Sesame oil
  • Sorbet
  • Syrup
  • Tapioca pudding

Drinks

  • Gluten free beer
  • Almond milk
  • Cider
  • Fruit juices
  • Potato vodka
  • Sodas / fizzy drinks e.g. Coca-cola, Pepsi, lemonade
  • Spirits such as rum. Certain spirits such as whisky and vodka are distilled so most can tolerate
  • Wine

Dairy Foods

  • Butter
  • Cheese except for blue cheese
  • Cream
  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Sour cream
  • Yogurt, plain

Cooking ingredients, herbs and Spices

  • Gluten free flour
  • Baking powder
  • Bicarbonate of soda
  • Cornflour
  • Cream of tartar
  • Potato flour
  • Rice flour
  • Soya flour
  • Herbs e.g. basil, coriander, lemongrass, oregano, rosemary, thyme
  • Spices e.g. allspice, cinnamon, cloves, cumin, nutmeg, paprika

What foods do I avoid on the gluten–free diet?

Following a gluten–free diet means you should remove all foods that have gluten from your diet. Foods that contain gluten should never be eaten by anyone with celiac disease.

Ways to eliminate gluten-containing food from your diet:

  • Remove grains that contain gluten from your diet.You shouldn’t eat any food that contains wheat, barley, or rye. Keep in mind that wheat has many forms. Avoid products that include bulgur, durum, graham, kamut, spelt, and semolina. These are all forms of wheat!
  • Avoid all gluten-containing foodssuch as bagels, breads, cakes, candy, cereals, crackers, cookies, dressing, flour tortillas, gravy, ice cream cones, licorice, malts, rolls, pretzels, pasta, pizza, pancakes, sauces, stuffing, soy sauce, veggie burgers, vegetarian bacon/vegetarian chicken patties (many vegetarian meat substitute products contain gluten) and waffles. Please note this is NOT a complete list. Fortunately, gluten-free varieties are available for most of these foods.
  • Look for “hidden” sources of gluten.Avoid foods that list gluten-containing ingredients such as ale, barley, beer, bleached flour, bran, bread flour, brewer’s yeast, brown flour, brown rice syrup (unless the food is labeled gluten free), bulgur, couscous, dextrin (unless the source is gluten-free), durum, farina, farro, hydrolyzed vegetable (wheat) protein, gluten flour, graham flour, granary flour, groats, harina, kamut, malt, malt extract, malt syrup, malt vinegar, matzo, modified starch (unless the source is gluten-free), rye, orzo, seitan, semolina, self-rising flour, spelt, smoke flavoring, soy sauce, triticale, wheat germ, wheat and white flour, whole meal flour, and vegetable gum.

What’s important to know about barley?

Barley contains gluten and is frequently used to make malt. As a general rule, you should avoid natural or malt flavorings. If a food has “natural” or “malt” flavorings in the ingredient list, contact the company to see if these flavorings came from a non–gluten source.

Do I need to avoid oats?

It’s best to check with your health care provider to see if you can eat traditional oats or if you need to look for certified gluten-free oats. To find out if your favorite brand of oatmeal is gluten-free, check the package each time you purchase them. You can also call the company or check the brand’s website. Some brands, such as Bob’s Redmill, Glutenfreeda, and GF Harvest make oatmeal that is certified gluten-free. When eating out or when in doubt, avoid oats and oat-containing cereals and breads.

What foods are safe to enjoy on the gluten–free diet?

There are lots of delicious foods to enjoy! Many foods are naturally gluten-free, including milk, butter, cheese, fruits and vegetables, fresh meats, fish, poultry, eggs, beans, nuts, seeds, corn, quinoa, and rice. While most breads, pastas, cereals, and baked goods are made with grains and flours containing gluten, there are many grains and flours that are naturally gluten-free – and many products on the market made from these grains and flours. Think of these grains, and products made with them, as safe foods – in other words, safe to eat on the gluten-free diet!

Gluten-free grains

How can I tell if a food is gluten–free?

A product labeled “gluten-free”, “no gluten” or “without gluten” is the fastest and easiest way to spot a gluten-free product. Manufactures can use these terms if they comply with the FDA rule of “gluten-free”.

Another way to tell if a product contains gluten is to read the allergen statement on packaged foods. The FDA food allergen labeling law requires food companies to label all foods that have wheat or contain wheat products. The allergen statement is found at the end of the ingredient list on packaged foods; if it says “contains wheat”, this means it has gluten and it’s unsafe.

The food labeling law does NOT apply to barley, rye, or oats. This means if the allergen statement does not include wheat, you need to continue reading through the ingredient list for the other sources of gluten described above. If you don’t see any of those words in the ingredient list, then the food is most likely a safe food.

In the sample ingredient label below, the ingredients are circled in red and the allergen statement is circled in blue. This food, which contains whole grain wheat, is not safe .

There is also a symbol that may appear on packaging of gluten free foods, which the Gluten Intolerance Group has deemed “Certified Gluten Free.” This symbol represents that the food manufacturer has applied for and been granted certification of the product’s status of gluten-free, by submitting test results showing that there is no gluten contained in the product.

You might notice that some food labels have the following statements and are unsure whether or not you should eat them. When in doubt, ask your dietitian or medical provider, but in general:

  • “May contain traces of wheat” – AVOID
  • “Made on shared equipment with wheat ingredients” – AVOID
  • “Manufactured in a facility that also processes wheat ingredients” – OK

Gluten-Free Diet

Updated 09/21/2018
Category: Diet

Gluten is the protein part of wheat, rye, barley, and other related grains. Some people cannot tolerate gluten when it comes in contact with the small intestine. This condition is known as celiac disease (sometimes called non-tropical sprue or gluten enteropathy).

Celiac disease is now clearly known to be genetically determined. In other words, if you or your close relatives have a certain gene, then it is more likely that you will get celiac disease some time in your life. Of great concern and interest is the fact that nine out of ten people with celiac disease do not known they have it. A simple blood test can give the physician the first clue to this disease.

In patients with celiac disease, gluten injures the lining of the small intestine. This injury can result in weight loss, bloating, diarrhea, gas, abdominal cramps, and/or vitamin and mineral deficiencies. When patients totally eliminate gluten from the diet, the lining of the intestine has a chance to heal.

Gut Bacteria

The primary area of injury in celiac disease is the smll bowel but there may be a relationship between what happens in the small bowel and the colon or large bowel. There are very large numbers of bacteria in the colon. Most of these are beneficial and actually confer health benefits. When these good bacteria thrive, they suppress the bad bacteria, which are present in the colon. What has been found is that celiac patients, in fact anyone on a gluten-free diet, have an altered make-up of bacteria in the colon which favors the unwanted bacteria.

Prebiotic Plant Fiber

A prebiotic is not a probiotic, which are beneficial bacteria taken by mouth. These probiotics are present in yogurt, other dairy products and pills. Prebiotics, on the other hand, are the necessary plant fibers that contain both oligofructose and inulin. These two fibers are the main nourishment for the good bacteria that reside in the gut. These fibers are rich in chicory root, Jerusalem artichoke, leeks, asparagus and others. Gluten containing wheat and barley also contain these prebiotics.

Health Benefits from Prebiotic Fibers

There is now ample information in the medical literature to indicate that a prebiotic rich diet leads to demonstrable health benefits. These include:

  • Increased calcium absorption
  • Stronger bones and bone density
  • Enhanced immunity
  • Reduced allergies and asthma in infants and children
  • A lower blood triglyceride level
  • Appetite and weight control
  • Lower cancer factors in the gut
  • Other benefits, including an increased sense of well being

The Celiac Wheat-Prebiotic Dilemma

Nature has played a trick on celiac people. Wheat and wheat products provide over 80% of the prebiotics that North Americans ingest. Yet, celiac patients must carefully avoid wheat, barley and rye. How do they then feed their good colon bacteria and get the health benefits, as outlined above? They must favor the other vegetables and fruits, as listed in the prebiotic section below. Additionally, they should consider a gluten free prebiotic supplement such as Prebiotin.

Special Considerations

Removing gluten from the diet is not easy. Grains are used in the preparation of many foods. It is often hard to tell by a food’s name what may be in it, so it is easy to eat gluten without even knowing it. However, staying on a strict gluten-free diet can dramatically improve the patient’s condition. Since it is necessary to remain on the gluten-free diet throughout life, it will be helpful to review it with a registered dietitian.

The person who prepares the patient’s food much fully understand the gluten-free diet. Read food labels carefully:

  • Do not eat anything that contains the following grains: wheat, rye and barley.
  • At one time, oats were thought to contain some gluten. It has now become apparent, however, that oats frequently were processed in facilities that also processed wheat. Most manufacturers no longer do this, although if there are any questions, a person should get reassurance from the manufacturer by mail, email or phone.
  • The following can be eaten: corn, potato, rice, soybeans, tapioca, arrowroot, carob, buckwheat, millet, amaranth and quinoa.
  • Distilled white vinegar does not contain gluten.
  • Malt vinegar does contain gluten.

Grains are used in the processing of many ingredients, so it will be necessary to seek out hidden gluten. The following terms found in food labels may mean that there is gluten in the product.

  • Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP), unless made from soy or corn
  • Flour or Cereal products, unless made with pure rice flour, corn flour, potato flour or soy flour
  • Vegetable Protein, unless made from soy or corn
  • Malt or Malt Flavoring, unless derived from corn
  • Modified Starch or Modified Food Starch, unless arrowroot, corn, potato, tapioca, waxy maize or maize is used
  • Vegetable Gum, unless made from carob bean, locust bean, cellulose, guar, gum arabic, gum aracia, gum tragacanth, xantham or vegetable starch
  • Soy Sauce or Soy Sauce Solids, unless you know they do not contain wheat

Any of the following words on food labels often mean that a grain containing gluten has been used.

  • Stabilizer
  • Starch
  • Flavoring
  • Emulsifier
  • Hydrolyzed
  • Plant Protein

The following are lists of various foods that do not have gluten, may have gluten and do contain gluten.

Prebiotic Plant Fiber Oligofructose and Inulin

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
Onion, garlic, leeks, Jerusalem artichokes, asparagus, chicory root, jicama, dandelion, banana, agave, jams, Prebiotin Wheat, barley, rye

Milk and Milk Products

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
Whole, low fat, skim, dry, evaporated or condensed milk; buttermilk; cream; whipping cream; Velveeta cheese food; American cheese; all aged cheese such as Cheddar, Swiss, Edam and Parmesan Sour cream, commercial chocolate milk and drinks, non-dairy creamers, all other cheese products, yogurt Malted drinks

Meat or Meat Substitutes

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
100% meat (no grain additives); seafood; poultry (breaded with pure cornmeal, potato flour or rice flour); peanut butter; eggs; dried beans or peas; pork Meat patties; canned meat; sausages; cold cuts; bologna; hot dogs; stew; hamburger; chili; commercial omelets, souffles, fondue; soy protein meat substitutes Croquettes, breaded fish, chicken loaves made with bread or bread crumbs, breaded or floured meats, meatloaf, meatballs, pizza, ravioli, any meat or meat substitute, rye, barley, oats, gluten stabilizers

Breads and Grains

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
Cream of rice; cornmeal; hominy; rice; wild rice; gluten-free noodles; rice wafers; pure corn tortillas; specially prepared breads made with corn, rice, potato, soybean, tapioca, arrowroot, carob, buckwheat, millet, amaranth and quinoa flour Packaged rice mixes, cornbread, ready-to-eat cereals containing malt flavoring Breads, buns, rolls, biscuits, muffins, crackers and cereals containing wheat, wheat germ, oats, barley, rye, bran, graham flour, malt; kasha; bulgur; Melba toast; matzo; bread crumbs; pastry; pizza dough; regular noodles, spaghetti, macaroni and other pasta; rusks; dumplings; zwieback; pretzels; prepared mixes for waffles and pancakes; bread stuffing or filling

Fats and Oils

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
Butter, margarine, vegetable oil, shortening, lard Salad dressings, non-dairy creamers, mayonnaise Gravy and cream sauces thickened with flour

Fruits

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
Plain, fresh, frozen, canned or dried fruit; all fruit juices Pie fillings, thickened or prepared fruit, fruit fillings None

Vegetables

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
Fresh, frozen or canned vegetables; white and sweet potatoes; yams Vegetables with sauces, commercially prepared vegetables and salads, canned baked beans, pickles, marinated vegetables, commercially seasoned vegetables Creamed or breaded vegetables; those prepared with wheat, rye, oats, barley or gluten stabilizers

Snacks and Desserts

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
Brown and white sugar, rennet, fruit whips, gelatin, jelly, jam, honey, molasses, pure cocoa, fruit ice, carob Custards, puddings, ice cream, ices, sherbet, pie fillings, candies, chocolate, chewing gum, cocoa, potato chips, popcorn Cakes, cookies, doughnuts, pastries, dumplings, ice cream cones, pies, prepared cake and cookie mixes, pretzels, bread pudding

Beverages

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
Tea, carbonated beverages (except root beer), fruit juices, mineral and carbonated waters, wines, instant or ground coffee Cocoa mixes, root beer, chocolate drinks, nutritional supplements, beverage mixes Postum™, Ovaltine™, malt-containing drinks, cocomalt, beer, ale

Soups

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
Those made with allowed ingredients Commercially prepared soups, broths, soup mixes, boullion cubes Soups thickened with wheat flour or gluten-containing grains; soup containing barley, pasta or noodles

Thickening Agents

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
Gelatin, arrowroot starch; corn flour germ or bran; potato flour; potato starch flour; rice bran and flour; rice polish; soy flour; tapioca, sago Commercially prepared soups, broths, soup mixes, boullion cubes Wheat starch; all flours containing wheat, oats, rye, malt, barley or graham flour; all-purpose flour; white flour; wheat flour; bran; cracker meal; durham flour; wheat germ

Condiments

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
Gluten-free soy sauce, distilled white vinegar, olives, pickles, relish, ketchup Flavoring syrups (for pancakes or ice cream), mayonnaise, horseradish, salad dressings, tomato sauces, meat sauce, mustard, taco sauce, soy sauce, chip dips

Seasonings

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
Salt, pepper, herbs, flavored extracts, food coloring, cloves, ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, bicarbonate of soda, baking powder, cream of tartar, monosodium glutamate Curry powder, seasoning mixes, meat extracts Synthetic pepper, brewer’s yeast (unless prepared with a sugar molasses base), yeast extract (contains barley)

Prescription Products

NO Gluten MAY Contain Gluten DOES Contain Gluten
All medicines – Check with pharmacist or pharmaceutical company.

Sample Menu

Breakfast Lunch Dinner
Cream of rice – 1/2 cup
Skim milk – 1 cup
Banana – 1 medium
Orange juice – 1/2 cup
Sugar – 1 tsp
Baked chicken – 3 oz
Rice – 1/2 cup
Green beans – 1/2 cup
Apple juice – 1/2 cup
Ice cream – 1/2
* Ice cream should be made
without wheat stabilizers.
Sirloin steak – 3 oz
Baked potato – 1 medium
Peas – 1/2 cup
Fruit gelatin – 1/2 cup
Butter – 1 Tbsp
Tea – 1 cup
Sugar – 1 tsp

The above sample diet provides the following: 1,748 calories; 77 gm protein; 225 gm carbohydrates; 62 gm fat; 1,577 gm sodium; 2,934 potassium

Gluten Free Foods – Vegetables – Onions

Your gluten free diet – any diet – needs a good supply of vegetables. Onions and their relatives make gluten free foods taste great!

The onion family includes not just onions, but leeks, garlic and other similar vegetables. All are both healthy and give your food a big taste boost. I you find your gluten free diet boring, make sure you include some of the vegetables described in this post.

Onions

Onions come in a range of sizes. More important though, is the strength of the taste.

Onions store well if cool and dry, so it is easy to keep a good stock of them. If you’re not sure what to make for dinner, just start frying onions, and see what else is in the fridge. You’re sure to come up with something!

You can also fry onions in greater quantities than you need for the meal at hand, and store the rest in the fridge. This makes putting together a gluten-free meal quick and easy, and it is guaranteed to taste great.

You can boil onions, but is often not the best way to get their flavor. Much better is to fry them very slowly for a long time or to bake them. They are also fantastic on the BBQ, or arranged around a roast for long, slow cooking.

Yellow Onions

This is often what people think of when they think “onion”. They are often known as Spanish onions, but this is just one variety. They have light brown skin and pale yellowish flesh. They tend to be mild-tasting.

Yellow onions are usually large, which makes them easier and faster to peal when cooking. Smaller, younger ones usually taste stronger.

You can chop them up and fry them, or bake them, stuff them, cut them into rings, etc. They are better cooked than raw in my opinion.

Yellow onions make a good basis for a gluten-free meal. Start frying the onions, combine them with other vegetables, and any kind of protein that goes well with strong flavors, such as beef, tofu, beans, lentils etc.

Red Onions

Red onions have red skin and white flesh, although the outer edge of each layer has a reddish tinge.

Red onions are milder and sweeter than yellow onions, and are a better choice if eaten raw, for example in salads. When fried, they lack the flavor yellow onions have.

White Onions

White onions are usually firmer and more uniform in size and shape than red or yellow onions. They have a stronger flavor than yellow onions, and are best cooked.

Because they are so uniform, they are a great choice for stuffing.

Gerlots

These are small onions with white flesh and green skins. They are great raw and excellent in salads. You’ll sometimes see them sold as “salad onions”. You can also include them in lightly cooked dishes such as those make with eggs, or in stir fries when you don’t want to spend a lot of time cooking the onions first.

They fall apart when cooked for a long time. This may be what you want in soups and stews (personally, I like the texture a more robust onion adds to these dishes), but they are a poor choice for stand-alone frying.

Cipolla (Borettane) Onions

These are rather small onions. They are rather sweet and not too strong. They don’t need to be chopped due to their size, but they are a lot of work to peel.

They are great fried while, roasted or pickled.

Pickling Onions

This describes a use for an onion rather than a variety. Silverskins are a strong-tasting onion with white flesh. You can also pickle small yellow varieties.

Gluten Free Diet and Onions

Managing a gluten allergy or celiac disease can seem onerous due to restricted choices. Actually, there is plenty to choose from and you can eat a lot of tasty gluten-free food! This article is just a small example of the gluten free foods available to you, so you’re missing out on less than you think.

(Visited 10,574 times, 3 visits today)

Tagged as: Gluten Allergy, Gluten Free Diet, Gluten Free Food, Gluten Free Vegetables

However bad you think eliminating onions and garlic will be, the celiac test is worse if you actually have celiac disease

For those of you who don’t know what the celiac test actually entails, you actually have to consume wheat daily and make yourself sick and/or malnourished for several weeks before you give yourself a good colon blow and then go in for an endoscopy/colonoscopy. It’s awful even if you don’t have the disease because if you’re sensitive to wheat for any reason, of which SEVERAL possibilities are known, it can be majorly disruptive and your workplace may not be willing or able to accommodate the accompanying diarrhea, brain fog, and other potential symptoms. ***Some tips I’ve learned as an IBS sufferer whose primary trigger is fructans: 0. on a scale of 1 to 10 where 1 is “you’ll be fine” and 10 is “you’re fucked”, this is how the various members of the fructan-containing grains and vegetables seem to rank (your mileage may vary, but hopefully only by one or two ranks in any direction): 1: Kale and other *dark* green leafy vegetables, chives, celery 2: Green parts of scallions and leeks; a serving of cauliflower (unless you’re also really sensitive to polyols—check your tolerance to stone fruit, coconut, and sugar substitutes), celeriac 3: A serving of broccoli (a half-dozen or so florets a bite or two in size each) or snap peas (5-10 pods) 4: A serving of Napa cabbage, red cabbage, radicchio, or peas 5: Asparagus, a serving of Brussels sprouts, or green cabbage 6: Leek or scallion bulbs, pearl onions, savoy cabbage 7: White, yellow, or Vidaia onions, wheat, barley, rye 8: Artichoke, red onions 9 Shallots. Seriously, these are more like garlic than onions. 10: Garlic. Holy shit. If you can smell it, GTFO. 1. Leek greens and scallions are perfectly acceptable substitutes for onions and shallots. Leeks are just wonderful all around. The green parts are like scallions but more robust to cooking, so you can add them earlier and let more oniony flavor seep into your food. They also hold up to freezing better than scallions. I like to get a whole bunch of leeks and portion the greens from each leek into separate bowls for freezing and later use in stews. Also, if you fry the white parts in oil and then remove them, you’ll get even more of that oniony flavor without the fructans, because fructans are water-soluble. 2. Garlic…there’s just no single replacement for it, sorry. Technically you can also soak garlic in oil and then pitch the garlic, but then the oil pretty much has to be used in the next week or it’ll go bad. Unless you’re cooking for a lot of people at once, you’ll have to settle for different aromatics, which will be much more dependent on the dish. Cumin is pretty good for Latin, Middle Eastern, North African, and Southern Asian dishes, but be aware that it can give you some pretty pungent BO. If the dish is somewhat in the tangy side, coriander or cilantro may help for Indian or South European dishes, and mint or fennel may help for Arab or Semitic dishes. Oregano and basil are also surprisingly good additions for Latin-American cuisine, at least this side of the Panama Canal. For far-Eastern dishes, you typically won’t miss the garlic if you add a little extra ginger, scallion/leek greens, and maybe some red chilies if the recipe needs to be spicy. White pepper is also a good addition for these, or any cuisine that calls itself “curry”, or any recipe described as “floral” (like something with jasmine rice). For French or Southern European dishes, you might consider celery (esp. the leaves) and/or coriander for salty or tangy dishes, and rosemary or fennel for dishes you want to be more savory. The right kinds of mushrooms or a very hard cheese may also help. ALWAYS take a whiff of your dish and your prospective spice together before adding! *2b. Asafoetida powder is supposedly a good substitute for onion and garlic in Indian or South Asian cuisine, but beware: it is often NOT appropriate for celiac sufferers. If you suspect celiac disease (e.g. you react to wheat but not onion or garlic), avoid this spice unless you can be sure your source is gluten free. 3. Artichokes are almost as bad as garlic and shallots, especially because they are used in large quantities. Forget about using them as a centerpiece of any dish. If they’re a minor accent, replace them with capers, olives, or a mix of the two (I prefer Kalamata olives). 4. Bread substitutes are getting pretty good now. Udi’s is probably the best for bread, muffins, bagels, etc, if you live in the States. I tried a German brand (I forget the name, but they sold it at Trader Joe’s) and it had a slimy mouth-feel. As far as desserts go, gluten-free products are pretty dense, but if you prefer brownies and cookies anyway, and if you don’t have a problem with eggs, almost anything on the market will be fine. If you do have issues with egg, or any other common allergen, Enjoy Life brand makes decent cookies, and Larabar* makes good breakfast bars. Both brands are pretty expensive, however. *Larabar may not be appropriate if you’re sensitive to polyols/sugar alcohols, as they’re based on dates, which are stone fruits, and stone fruits are characteristically high in sugar alcohols. I had trouble with these when I first started having issues, but this particular sensitivity has largely gone away. 4. A lot depends on your gut flora. If you’ve recently had a serious case of food-poisoning, once you completely recover, try challenging yourself with foods you were previously sensitive to. Your sensitivities may have changed. I got sick because I accident drank a drink in Mexico that had ice in it. After I recovered, my tolerance for beans and onions (besides shallots) significantly improved, at the cost of modest declines in my ability to digest nuts and seeds. 5. As a follow-on to (4), you should also consider a probiotic, and consider switching it up periodically. The greater your gut biome diversity, the better. Probiotics are especially good to take if you’re taking an antibiotic and can’t have yogurt or kimchi or other more natural probiotics. I can’t say they’ll help prevent antibiotic diarrhea, but they do seem to reduce its duration. If you’re taking a particularly strong antibiotic known to increase the risk of C. Difficile (e.g. Clindamyacin), look for probiotics with the strain S. Boulardi. I don’t know how well it works when taken orally, but there are definitely studies out there that suggest this strain can protect against C. Diff, and C. Diff. is one infection you really want to avoid at all costs. Antibiotics are only a permanent fix for C. Diff about half the time. The rest of the cases end up requiring a fecal transplant, and that still has a 5% relapse rate, not to mention the risk of unexpected drastic changes to one’s metabolism. The only time you DON’T want to take probiotics is when you’re actively suffering from a GI infection. Counter-intuitive as it may seem, the current best science suggests that taking a probiotic during a bout of food poisoning due to typical bacterial causes may actually delay your return to equilibrium. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3934501/ this article may help if you want more info.

About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *